Home The Archive List of Board Members List of Photos List of Committees Library Website Contact

West Lafayette, In. - Feb. 6, 1923.

The West Lafayette Public Library Board met in the High School office and was called to order by the President, Mr. Vawter. All the members of the Board were present. The secretary's report was read and adopted.

Mr. Cunningham gave the following financial report:

Subscriptions received for the West Lafayette Public Library from Jan. 2 to Feb. 5, 1923 inclusive:

Jan. 2

L.A. Sailor


Jan. 5

Warren M McVey


Jan. 5

F. C. Gaylor


Jan. 6

B.E. Pontius


Jan. 8

Fred A. Munger


Jan. 11

Edgerton [Union] of W.C.T.U.


Jan. 20

Rachel B. Leonard


Jan. 29

Roy C. Street


Total sum received since last report – 105.48

Amount heretofore received to Jan. 1, 1923 – 1755.46

Total amount received to date – 1860.94

Amount heretofore paid over to the Town Treasurer – 1600.00

Balance on deposit in Purdue State Bank – 260.94

(Signed) J.B. Cunningham

Members of Finance Committee

The following bills were presented and ordered paid:

Ethel B. McQueen – stamps – 1.00

LaFayette Carpet & Rug. Co. - Window fixture – 8.10

L.A. Sailor – Plumbing – 8.00

W. C. Auderson – Plastering – 11.50

Total – 28.60

It was moved and carried that the secretary write a letter of appreciation tot he Edgerton Union of the W.C.T.U. For their generous donation to the Public Library.

The matter of a librarian for the Public Library was taken up. The baord had found it very difficult to get in touch with trained persons who were interested enough in the vacancy here to make application. Miss Mary Kent of Brookston was the only applicant who had had any training and experience. Mr. Smith moved that the secretary get in touch with Miss Kent and arrange for a meeting with the Library Board. Miss Kent was called by phone at once and a meeting was arranged for 1:30 Wednesday, Feb. 7 at the town hall.

Mr. Vawter, chairman of the Board, announced the following committees for the ensuing year:

Committee on Finance:

W. R. Smith

J.B. Cunningham

Mrs. E. O. Price

F. A. Burtsfield, ex. Off.

Committee on Books:

Miss Caroline Shoemaker

Mrs. E. O. Price

J.B. Cunningham

F. A. Burthsfield, ex. Off.

Committee on Buildings & Grounds:

J.B. Cunningham

Mrs. Ethel B. McQueen

W. R. Smith

E. B. Vawter. ex. Off.


There being no further business to transact the board adjourned.

E. B. Vawter – Pres.

F. A. Burtsfield, sec.


Download transcription as a word document