Music

The library has a large collection of music CDs as well as an extensive sheet music collection. The check-out period for CDs is 3 weeks.  You may renew a CD once as long as there are no holds on the item.

Link to a great collection of online sheet music, all with an Indiana connection at IN Harmony.

 

Search the catalog to find specic CDs or music books (use advanced search and choose Music from the item type list on the right to limit your search to CDs).

Foreign Language Books & DVDs

The library has a collection of books in foreign languages including Chinese, Hindi, Korean, Turkish, Chinese and more. These global books are grouped by language.  They are located on the second floor on the book shelves that face the stairs.Globe with different styles of houses around it

We also have a nice collection of DVDs that were created in languages other than English, such as Hindi, Chinese, Korean and more.  These DVDs are the Global Collection and are located on the first floor between the non-fiction and TV series DVDs.

Look for this picture on the spine of the global collection books and DVDs.

In addition, the library has materials to help people learn English (ESL, English as a second language) or learn other languages (FLI, foreign language instruction).  These materials are located on the second floor on the shelves facing the stairs near the foreign language books.

Also, the library subscribes online language instruction: Muzzy Online for Kids and Mango Languages for adults and teens.

Books

The library offers over 150,000 books for all ages - from novels to non-fiction, board books to large print.  The check-out period for all books is 3 weeks.  You may renew a book once as long as there is no hold on it. 

Search the catalog to find specic books.  eBooks  are also available for download.

Library Collections

The library has collections of books, DVD, audiobooks, Large Print, ebooks and more. 

  • See the left menu for more information on specific collections. 
  • Also, check the catalog to see if we have specific print and AV materials. 
  • See the top menu for Digital Resources - information about our electronic resources and eBooks for our downloadable eBooks and eAudiobooks.
  • To use the Library's online subscription to Consumer Reports - with the latest information and reviews - please ask for help at the First Floor Information Desk or the Second Floor Reference Desk.
  • Looking for the next book in a fiction (novel) series?  Try the Kent District Public Library's WHAT NEXT?".
  • For Children's book series titles try the MID CONTINENT LIBRARY's online database

Complete the form above to request materials that we do not currently own. We will do our best to obtain all requested items. If the item is not currently available for purchase, we will try to obtian your request through Interlibrary Loan.

Computer Software on CD-ROMs and Console Games

The library maintains a collection of computer software on CD-ROM for all ages, including both Mac and PC formats. The library has begun collecting console games for the Wii and PS2 systems as well.

  • The check-out period for software is 3 weeks. You may renew a CD-ROM once as long as there are no holds on the item.
  • The check-out period for console games is 1 week with a limit of 1 per patron. You may renew a console game once as long as there are no holds on the item.

 

Search the catalog to find specic games (keywords -  software or wii or ps2). 

eAudiobooks & eBooks

isnlogoINSPIRE.in.gov is your access for statewide electronic content.  Access testing ebooks and materials at INSPIRE's Testing and Education Reference Center. In INSPIRE's NetLibrary section you can access the Indiana State Library's eContent Collection.

View ebooks for ekids at TumbleBooks TumbleBook anim2 238x60

Lg-A-E

Visit our electronic branch at the Indiana Digital  Download Center, iddc.lib.overdrive.com This collection of online digital content is easily accessed with your library card and password. (if you need help call the information desk at the library 765-743-2261.)

Indiana Digital Download Center is our growing consortium's online presence at OverDrive.  The consortium is comprised of 8 libraries that are pooling funds to purchase digital content for their patrons.

Tippecanoe County Public Library is also in an OverDrive consortium but we felt that it would give our patrons, including our reciprocal borrowers, access to more materials if we joined the other Indiana OverDrive consortium.

OverDrive recently released an OverDrive 2.0 apps for iPhone and Android, which adds support for eBooks from our library. Now you can download both EPUB eBooks and MP3 audiobooks directly to your iPhone, iPod touch, iPad or Android phone/tablet. New users can search for "OverDrive Media Console" in the Apple App Store and Android Market, while current users will be alerted to update the existing OverDrive app on their devices.

Having trouble with your device? Here are some helpful OverDrive tips from the Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library.

netlibrary 155px Click on the logo to go to NetLibrary and learn more about NetLibrary's eAudiobook collections. Then come into the West Lafayette Public Library and set up a free NetLibrary account and you will be able to access this eContent from home. You can look at the West Lafayette Public Library's eAudiobook collection - which is provided through NetLibrary - by visiting the NetLibrary site from the Library or while logged into your library account.  This eContent is made available through a multi-library cooperative purchase with other Indiana Libraries offered through INCOLSA.  This service seems to work the best with Internet Explorer.

Books on CD and Tape

Best Sellers and older classics are available as audiobooks for all ages. The check-out period for audiobooks on tape or on CD is 3 weeks.  You may renew an audiobook on CD or tape once as long as there are no holds on the item.

 Search the catalog to find specic audiobooks (using advance search - select Audiobooks from the item type list on the right to limit your search).  eAudiobooks  are also avaialble for download.

DVDs & Videos

The library collects thousands of videos in VHS and DVD formats, including award-winners, foreign films and a large children's collection.

  • All DVDs circulate free of charge for 1 week. You may renew a DVD only once as long as there are no holds on the item.
  • All VHS videos circulate free of charge for 3 weeks.  You may renew a VHS video once as long as there are no holds on the item.
  • Patrons may check out 10 DVDs and 10 Videos.

 

Materials Request

 

Search the catalog to find specic movies (in advanced search - select Video Recordings from the item type list on the right to limit your search).

Magazines & Newspapers

The library subscribes to more than 200 titles. The newest edition of each title is available for use in the library, but older copies of all periodicals circulate for 3 weeks.  You may renew a magazine once as long as there are no holds on the item.

The library subscribes to ProQuest for access to the archives of many newspapers including the Journal and Courier and Chicago Tribune.

isnlogoINSPIRE, magazine articles, encyclopedias, and other databases for residents of Indiana, provided by the State of Indiana, the Indiana State Library and INCOLSA.

Subcategories

Additional information